September 23, 2012

DIY Paint Chip Art

Posted in Decor, DIY Art tagged , at 9:20 am by BetweenWeekdays

I’ve been on the paint chip art bandwagon for awhile now. In fact, I actually made this piece of art back in April of 2011. I just never shared it. Oops!

You see, I actually worked on this during a week when we didn’t have power following a line of tornadoes that moved through our area. We were very fortunate, but many in our community were not. It was a scary time for us, and I suppose that’s why I never shared this project that was completed during the few hours of daylight we had every day after work.

Now that the heavy stuff is out of the way, on with the crafting!

I used four different paint chip colors from Behr’s Premium Plus Ultra line. On a side note, I have used this paint on a piece of furniture I refinished and loved it!

The colors are: (clockwise) pencil point, ozone, burnished clay and elephant skin.

I chose the colors for their fantastic shape and how well they tie in with the colors in my home. Elephant skin is a close match to the paint color used in my living room and kitchen, and ozone is very similar to the color in my master bedroom and bathroom.

All I did was decide on a pattern and use double-stick tape to keep it all together. Voila! Instant, free art! The frame itself is rather large (33 ½ x 27 ½), but I love the visual impact it has on the wall.

All in all, I’d say this is any easy project for any DIY-er looking to add visual interest to a blank wall.

3 Comments »

  1. Christina said,

    Hi, I know this is an old post, but I absolutely love this project!

  2. Anne said,

    How did you cut yhe paint chips into that pattern?


Leave a Reply

