September 13, 2012

Yard Sale Finds

Posted in Christmas, Decor, Gifts, Yard Sale tagged , , , , , , , at 4:35 pm by BetweenWeekdays

Lately my BFF has introduced me to the word of shopping at yard sales. I’m no stranger to hosting yard sales, so it’s been very interesting to see things from another perspective.

My family and I always have at least one yard sale every year, so I came to the game knowing a few tricks of the trade that I was able to apply to shopping yard sales. My self-imposed rules are pretty straight forward when it comes to shopping at yard sales.

  1. Only shop at yard sales in good areas of town. Duh.
  2.  Don’t buy clothes if they are soiled, full of holes, or something you’ll never wear.
  3. If someone has taken the time to arrange things neatly, show some respect and don’t make a mess.
  4. Don’t buy something that cannot be repaired or cleaned.
  5. Just because it’s only a quarter, doesn’t mean you need it. Only buy things you need.

I returned home from my latest yard sale shopping adventure with a pretty good haul, if I do say so myself.

All of the clothes above were only 25¢. Moving clockwise in the top left corner, is a Duck Head shirt I bought for Travis. He’s really in to short sleeve, button-up shirts right now. Next is a New Directions shirt for me. It’s a little too big, but big, slouchy shirts seem to still be in style at the moment, so I’m ok with it. Plus, it’s super comfortable. The pale pink shirt is by Elle and is one of my current favorite shirts to wear. I actually wore it just this week on a fun date with the husband. The last shirt is a super cute cardigan from American Eagle. It has a really fun glitter stripe that runs through it. I can’t wait for cooler weather to finally arrive so I can break this out of the closet! I also bought my Dad a shirt (not pictured) for $2 to replace an identical one he already owns that was falling apart.

I found the Christmas items above at an estate sale. The baskets were only a quarter each, and I think they’ll be great for Christmas gift baskets full of homemade goodies. The crocheted angel was a special find. It’s obvious that she was carefully hand crafted. I’m toying with the idea of spraying her white, but I’m just not sure I want to take away from her original beauty. Even if I leave her as is, it was still a dollar well spent.

My next great finds came from across town. I love milk glass, but, unfortunately, I only have three pieces including the two above. The seller originally wanted $2 a piece for these, but when I put them down to walk away, she reduced the price to $1. I probably would have paid $2, but I couldn’t walk away from them at only $1 each. I can’t wait to decorate with them. I see so many possibilities for these beauties.

My last big find of the day was a Kate Spade purse! It was a bit of a yard sale splurge at $8, but its like-new condition convinced me to take it home. It had a knock-off wallet with it, but I plan to either donate it or sale it in my next yard sale.

I’m not entirely convinced the purse is an original, but the weight and details lead me to believe it’s the real deal.

Even if it’s not an original, I still love it, which makes it money well spent in my book. Plus, if I later decide I don’t like it anymore, I can always resale it at a yard sale for at least what I paid for it. Win, Win.

All totaled, I only spent $14.75. I daresay it would have cost considerably more to have purchased all of these items brand new. Plus, driving around with my bestie early Saturday morning with Starbucks drink in hand is always a fun way to spend the morning. I’m already looking forward to our next yard sale shopping adventure!

Leave a Reply

