September 16, 2011

DIY Art: Frame Collage

Posted in DIY Art tagged , at 8:15 pm by BetweenWeekdays

Art for your home doesn’t have to be expensive or masterpieces commissioned by artists. I know art is one of those terms that can be difficult to define, but to me, art should be aesthetically pleasing to those living within the home.  It’s just a bonus if other people like your art as well.

I’ve heard it’s bad to have too many family photos in areas of your house where you often entertain.  Seems to me, if I’m the one spending the majority of my time in my home, I should be able to display family photos however I want.

So, that’s what I did.

I had a bunch of frames sitting around after a wedding event I planned for some friends a few years ago. The gold tones of the frames had always thrown me off, because I thought all the frames in your house had to match. Silly me.

Once I got that notion out of my head, I noticed the frames beautifully matched the earth tones in our living room while providing a little bling. However, I had nowhere to place these table-top frames. What to do?

A few years ago what I’m about to tell you was mind blowing for me. Table-top picture frames do not have to rest on a table; they can hang on a wall. I know. It was earth-shattering news to me, too.

3M manufactures the most genius products; one of them being Velcro picture frame hangers.  If you do not own any of these, go buy them now. Hanging the pictures was a cinch with this product. And I love that it doesn’t leave holes in the wall.

When deciding how to position the frames on the wall, I began by laying out how I thought I might want the frames on the floor. Then I positioned them on the wall. The best part is I can slightly move a frame if I think it’s crooked by un-velcroing the pieces and then readjusting them.

Another bonus is that when we go to sell our home, I can remove all the family photos and not have to worry about spackling a bunch of holes. Score!

I know this “art” may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I love it.

Leave a Reply

