September 12, 2011

DIY Personalized Christmas Ornament

Posted in Christmas tagged , , , at 11:04 am by BetweenWeekdays

One of my very best friends got married earlier this year to a great guy we met during the Labor Day holiday.  They live out of state, so we were super excited to visit them. Of course, I couldn’t visit without at least a small gift to commemorate their marriage.

Since the couple didn’t have a traditional wedding, I knew a traditional gift (casserole dishes, bath towels, etc.) wouldn’t do for this new family. My friend is seriously into crafting, so I knew she’d appreciate a homemade gift.

I whipped out my Silhouette SD and got to work. Since I’ve had Christmas on my mind lately (read more about that here, here, here, and here),  I knew just want to make for this sweet couple. A Christmas ornament for their very first Christmas tree as a married couple!

First I gathered my supplies:

  • Flat ceramic ornament
  • Dark green craft paint
  • Glitter craft paint
  • Silhouette SD and red vinyl

First I painted the ornament with the dark green paint. Then, I painted over the green with the glitter craft paint. The glitter paint didn’t have any tint to the actual paint itself, so it could be brushed over any color. I found it at Joann’s.

Next, I cut out their monogram for one side and the year of their marriage for the other.

The last thing I did was seal the entire ornament with Mod Podge so the vinyl won’t peel off over time.

Voila! Instant ornament! This is so easy and so adaptable. I’m thinking I might have to make a few for our tree this year.

I’m linking to Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch. Join me!

1 Comment »

  1. livelovelaughcraft said,

    We loved our ornament! Thank you!


Leave a Reply

