July 10, 2011

Weekend Recap: Canning Beans

Posted in How To tagged , , at 8:08 pm by BetweenWeekdays

We spent the majority of Saturday canning beans. My step-father had grown beans (half white runners, if you’re interested) for me in his garden. My garden is an 8’x8’ raised bed, which is hardly enough room for growing beans.

The original plan was that the husband and I would spend the night with my Mother and step-father Friday, pick beans early Saturday morning and then head home to can them.

At least that was the plan, until my Mom called Friday afternoon to say they had already picked the beans and would meet us at the halfway point between our respective homes to give us the beans. Between you and me, I really wasn’t looking forward to picking beans bright and early Saturday morning anyway.

We became the proud new owners of a five-gallon bucket of half white runner beans Friday evening.

If you’ve never canned beans before it’s not the quickest process. It’s very simple, but very time consuming.

Here’s what you’ll need to can beans:

  • Beans
  • Jars
  • Jar Lids, commonly called flats
  • Jar Bands, commonly called rings
  • Pressure Canner
  • Jar Funnel
  • Jar Lifter
  • Bath Towel

There are a few steps one must follow when canning beans. Please bear with me as I attempt to explain.

To continue reading this post, click here.

I’m linking up to Metamorphosis Monday over at Between Naps on the Porch. Join me!

I’m also linking up to Thrifty Decor Chick‘s Before and After party. See you there!

Tip Junkie handmade projects

I’m also super excited to link up to Tip Me Tuesday over at Tip Junkie.

Also linking up to A Marvelous Mess Moday.

6 Comments »

  1. patti said,

    MMM…looks delish – remind me of my grandmother who canned all season…the veggies in the winter always tasted so good!
    Stop over for a last chance to enter a vintage linen giveaway!

  2. Allison said,

    My DH is on his way over. Please let him in. 😉
    Dropping by from Met Monday. I’ll hope you’ll come see the nursery I helped create for my first grandchild.

    Allison
    Atticmag

  3. Those green beans are going to be so yummy in a few months! I have been canning tomatoes for the past few weeks. I wish I had a pressure canner. Perhaps I’ll invest in one soon. I use a water-bath canner to do my tomatoes.

  4. Messy Missy said,

    Wow, what a project!!!! 🙂

  5. melissa said,

    did you have any problems using your pressure cooker on the flat top??? I have a flat top and wondered? Thanks

    • Sorry for the delayed response! We had no trouble had all with our cooktop stove. My mother-in-law hasn’t had problems with hers either. Happy canning!


Leave a Reply

