June 4, 2011

Kitchen Lemon Wreath

Posted in Wreaths tagged , , at 3:11 pm by BetweenWeekdays

On of my favorite wreaths is my kitchen lemon wreath. Hands down. Fave. Eva…. For now.

(Sorry for the poor picture quality. Hi, Shadow!)

This wreath is so so simple to make. I don’t have photos of each step, but I thought I’d do a breakdown anyway.

First, you’ll want to gather your supplies:

Grapevine Wreath
Faux Lemon
Wood Letters
Craft Paint
Embellishments (I’ve used two bumblebees and a butterfly)
Hot Glue

Next, you’ll want to paint your letters with the craft paint. I purchased my craft paint and letters at Joann’s. Be sure to paint both sides, because you’ll be able to see the backs of the letters from certain angles. I chose a light green color for my paint, but you could use yellow or another color used in your kitchen.

Then, lay out your lemons on your wreath where you think you’ll want them. I spaced mine in groups of threes, but this is totally up to you and what you like! I also left the leaves with the lemons, as I thought this gave the wreath a more organic feel. Also, place your letters and embellishments where you think you’ll want those.

The very last thing you do is secure your lemons, letters and embellishments. My lemons came from Michael’s and were held together like a bouquet. I cut them apart and pushed them into the wreath form. If your lemons are separate, just hot glue them into place. I used a couple strategic dots of glue to help secure some of my lemons. Attach you letters where you think they look best with hot glue. Then add your embellishments. If you’re using this wreath outside instead of indoors, firmly secure all elements with glue. I could totally see this wreath being adapted for a front door. Wouldn’t it be sweet if the letters spelled out “SPRING?”

That’s it! You now have a lovely kitchen wreath to hang.

Leave a Reply

